Search This Blog

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Asobi Seksu -- Citrus


Asobi Seksu's Citrus is a 47-minute headrush. The band's disparate, but enjoyable self-titled debut had many different strands. With Citrus, Asobi Seksu take the loud, joyful streaks and run with them. While the guitars buzz and the rhythm section is driving, the album always manages to contain a warm, close feeling.
Also, there are some exuberant bursts of noise so blissful, they will make your cheeks glow.

Listen to Asobi Seksu's "Exotic Animal Paradise"

Overall, Citrus features a band playing to their strengths and wildly succeeding. The instruments create constant fireworks that wrap around the vocals like an effervescent blanket, and the vocals burn with an intimate intensity that thrives and feeds on the energy surrounding them.
Or in South Louisiana Speak (SLS):
It sounds real pretty.

2006 Friendly Fire
1. Everything Is On 0:17
2. Strawberries 3:57
3. New Years 3:01
4. Thursday 4:17
5. Strings 5:27
6. Pink Cloud Tracing Paper 3:27
7. Red Sea 7:45
8. Goodbye 3:44
9. Lions and Tigers 4:08
10. Nefi+Girly 4:37
11. Exotic Animal Paradise 4:06
12. Mizu Asobi 2:40

No comments: