Search This Blog

Friday, September 05, 2014

Kent -- Jag är inte rädd för mörkret

 photo 220PX-1_zpse3e82730.jpg

After listening to Kent's tenth album, Jag är inte rädd för mörkret, a couple of times, I believed the band had lost it. Opening track, "999," is quite sentimental, and frankly, the kind of song only an older band would record. Nothing else stood out to me, except for track six, "Beredd på allt," which contains the sleek coolness one expects of Kent. The rest was just more dancey, electronic-heavy alternative rock music. After more listens, positive elements came out of hiding. At this point in their career, Kent are capable of creating some lovely, subtle melodies, and almost every one of Jag är inte rädd för mörkret's tracks are full of them. While these melodies don't jump out at the listener, they never outstay their welcome, either. Hence, repeat listens are far better than initials. The album becomes more craveable.
People, I'm sorry this review is weird. Jag är inte rädd för mörkret is weird. 2012 Kent is obviously a far different band than the one that put out all those immediately satisfying albums of the late 90's and early 00's. This Kent is capable of more depth, and has created some incredible songs for Jag är inte rädd för mörkret, but...even after repeat listens, this album starts to run out of steam across the last few tracks. That was one awesome train metaphor, but if this album was a swansong, it would be a disappointing career capper, but...(dot dot dot) Kent are still going, released a new album this very year (2014), and show no signs of stopping. So does their latest work contain the energy and coolness of their older work, or does the downward spiral continue? COMING UP: THE FINAL KENT REVIEW (Until they release another album)
Here's "Beredd på allt."

2012 Universal
1. 999 6:53
2. Petroleum 4:03
3. Isis & Bast 4:15
4. Jag ser dig (I see you) 5:36
5. Tänd på (Light up) 4:44
6. Beredd på allt (Prepared for everything) 4:35
7. Ruta 1 (Square 1) 4:14
8. Färger på natten (Colours at night) 4:14
9. Låt dom komma (Let them come) 3:59
10. Hänsyn (Consideration) 3:37

No comments: