Search This Blog


Saturday, September 20, 2014


In just three months, the Nicsperiment will be ten years old! That's older than some of the kids in my engineering courses! We're also closing in on 1000 posts, but that's a milestone that will likely only be hit in good old 2015. I love this blog! Ten years! That's nuts!

 photo Scary-Clown-scary-clowns-21187662-527-625_zpsdbe2b8e7.jpg

Monday, September 15, 2014

See You In a Week

Or maybe Friday. I have three tests this week, and can thus, not tell where I end and school begins. It's definitely easier in your 20's. Here is one of my favorite live recordings ever. Five guys in a room in awe of the sounds they are creating.  So good, at the end Thom Yorke asks if they can do it again.

Friday, September 12, 2014

Goodbye, Kent Reviews

I spent the entire summer writing you, as I listened to Kent's sweet, sweet catalogue over and over again. What's that, spell-check? Catalogue isn't a word? HOW DARE YOU QUESTION ME!!!
Seriously, Kent is a great band. If I encouraged just one person who had never heard them to check them out, this whole "Every Album I Own" review series has been worth it. It's been worth it anyway, just because of how much it has enriched me. Like Riboflavin.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014


Never thought I'd say this, but THANKS APPLE.

Monday, September 08, 2014

Kent -- Tigerdrottningen

 photo Kent_Tigerdrottningen_zps472700c8.jpg

After all these Kent reviews, I'd hate to end on a sour note. Good thing I don't have to. Tigerdrottningen (in English, "The Tiger Queen"), Kent's eleventh full-length album, is a return to the more exciting, sexier, cooler world Kent inhabited at the peak of their career. Frontman, Joakim Berg, has plenty of muses for inspiration here, as nearly every track prominently features female vocals. While the band have dabbled with this in the past, Tigerdrottningen sees Berg virtually splitting the microphone, and the results energize Kent's sound. Also, it's fun to say Tigerdrottningen.
Finally...well, not finally, because this review is turning out to be really short. I mean, the band keep the dance-pop vibe they've been hanging out with for the last seven years, but Tigerdrottningen does an excellent job of melding it with their former rocking sound, and adding a feeling of newness with all the lady-singing. That about sums it up.
SO...finally, in addition to the return of the cool factor, Kent bring back what was once a band trademark--a powerful closer. 2005's Du & Jag Döden was the last Kent album to even attempt such a thing, but in truth, "Den andra sidan" is the most powerful closer Kent have recorded since 1999's "Whistle Song." So on that note, here's to another 11 albums, and to Tigerdrottningen, one of only a few 2014 albums The Nicsperiment has not found to be a crushing disappointment.

2014 Universal
1. Mirage 5:35
2. Var är vi nu? (Where Are We Now?) 4:20
3. Skogarna (The Forests) 3:51
4. La Belle Epoque 3:58
5. Svart snö (Black Snow) 4:08
6. Allt har sin tid (There Is a Time for Everything) 5:12
7. Innan himlen faller ner (Before the Sky Falls Down) 3:52
8. Din enda vän (Your Only Friend) 4:19
9. Godhet (Goodness) (with Beatrice Eli) 4:22
10. Simmaren (The Swimmer) 3:55
11. Den andra sidan (The Other Side) 5:04

Friday, September 05, 2014

Kent -- Jag är inte rädd för mörkret

 photo 220PX-1_zpse3e82730.jpg

After listening to Kent's tenth album, Jag är inte rädd för mörkret, a couple of times, I believed the band had lost it. Opening track, "999," is quite sentimental, and frankly, the kind of song only an older band would record. Nothing else stood out to me, except for track six, "Beredd på allt," which contains the sleek coolness one expects of Kent. The rest was just more dancey, electronic-heavy alternative rock music. After more listens, positive elements came out of hiding. At this point in their career, Kent are capable of creating some lovely, subtle melodies, and almost every one of Jag är inte rädd för mörkret's tracks are full of them. While these melodies don't jump out at the listener, they never outstay their welcome, either. Hence, repeat listens are far better than initials. The album becomes more craveable.
People, I'm sorry this review is weird. Jag är inte rädd för mörkret is weird. 2012 Kent is obviously a far different band than the one that put out all those immediately satisfying albums of the late 90's and early 00's. This Kent is capable of more depth, and has created some incredible songs for Jag är inte rädd för mörkret, but...even after repeat listens, this album starts to run out of steam across the last few tracks. That was one awesome train metaphor, but if this album was a swansong, it would be a disappointing career capper, but...(dot dot dot) Kent are still going, released a new album this very year (2014), and show no signs of stopping. So does their latest work contain the energy and coolness of their older work, or does the downward spiral continue? COMING UP: THE FINAL KENT REVIEW (Until they release another album)
Here's "Beredd på allt."

2012 Universal
1. 999 6:53
2. Petroleum 4:03
3. Isis & Bast 4:15
4. Jag ser dig (I see you) 5:36
5. Tänd på (Light up) 4:44
6. Beredd på allt (Prepared for everything) 4:35
7. Ruta 1 (Square 1) 4:14
8. Färger på natten (Colours at night) 4:14
9. Låt dom komma (Let them come) 3:59
10. Hänsyn (Consideration) 3:37

Wednesday, September 03, 2014

Kent -- En plats i solen

 photo 330px-Kent_-_En_plats_i_solen_zps8b2b9e58.jpg

"Stately" and "relaxed" aren't exactly two words that go together, but, and I'll say this in a way that gives away my great ego of descriptive prowess, "stately" and "relaxed" perfectly describe Kent's ninth full-length album, En plats i solen (A place in the sun). The song lengths are greatly pared down (unlike the previous sentence), the shortest since the band's debut. No song extends past the five minute mark. The song structures and music sound efficient and precise, and some ways, En plats i solen is the aural equivalent of a large, official looking man, riding a white horse, wearing a suit with epaulets, a marching hat...and swimming trunks, the horse trotting down the beach on the album's cover (previous album, Röd, did end quite tropically). Perhaps, this is due to Kent employing far more strings into their efficient mix of acoustic and electronic music. "Skisser för sommaren" and "Ärlighet Respekt Kärlek" espouse this quality the most, while "Varje gång du möter min blick" does so while welding the emotional power Kent create so well. While all this makes for a lovely, enjoyable album, it is a step down from the stellar work Kent did during the 00's. Still, En plats i solen is far from a bad way to kick off the decade. Few bands can even say they've entered a third one, let alone entered it this gracefully.

2010 RCA/Sony
1. Glasäpplen (Glass Apples) 4:48
2. Ismael 4:25
3. Skisser för sommaren (Sketches for the Summer) 4:14
4. Ärlighet Respekt Kärlek (Honesty Respect Love) 4:28
5. Varje gång du möter min blick (Every time you meet my gaze) 4:27
6. Ensam lång väg hem (Lonely long way home) 4:11
7. Team building 3:58
8. Gamla Ullevi (Old Ullevi) 3:38
9. Minimalen (The Minimal) 4:21
10. Passagerare (Passengers) 4:18